Why I live in community….

joshdefnall nate

For those that don’t know, I live in an “intentional community” house, and have been for almost two years now. The basic philosophy behind living in such a situation is related to the thought of Tom Sine, who wrote The Mustard Seed Conspiracy. In the book, he addresses how many young folks, bound down by the chains of debts and bills in their young adulthood, when living by themselves, are mostly merely surviving rather than actually living. This is an oversimplification, but I think it’s faithful to his thoughts.

Anyways, he suggests more young adults should live in some degree of community with some shared expenses and vision together in order to enhance their quality of life, which then gives them more energy to contribute meaningfully to their world around them, which then moves outwards through relationships…you get the picture.

One of my housemates, Abigail, is writing a paper on why one should consider living in community. She interviewed me and my roommate, Josh. Here are our deeply philosophical comments:

Why do you live in community?

Josh, “The lack of community.”

Nate, “I like Josh and I’s community that revolves around us passing gas. For example last night I was laughing (mostly silently and inwardly) at 1ish because in the dark silence Josh farted. Not only did it last about five seconds, and not only did it have three distinct tones, he said it had been working its way down for the last half hour. This is why I live in community.”

Leave a Reply

