Lenten Daily Prayers: The First Week

pictcruclorenzeti

 These are prayers from last week, but I found the Prayer Appointed for the Week to be so powerful, I thought I’d cover it first as I travel through a (inconsistent but committed) commitment to observing the season of Lent.

 Hopefully these small meditations and prayers will draw you deeper within yourself to come to terms with the depth of darkness within as well as the potential for good; that a deeper realization of who we are would lead not to being paralyzed by our brokenness, but instead to placing our laments and joys before the God who can forgive and heal us.

The postings on Lent over the next days leading up to Easter will all be drawn from Phyllis Tickle’s Eastertide: Prayers for Lent through Easter from the Divine Hours.

Morning

The Call to Prayer

The Lord is King; let the people tremble; he is enthroned upon the cherubim; let the earth shake.  (Psalm 99:1)

The Prayer Appointed for the Week

Almighty and everlasting God, you hate nothing you have made and forgive the sins of all who are penitent:  Create and make in me a new and contrite heart, that I, worthily lamenting my sins and acknowledging my wretchedness, may obtain of you, the God of all mercy, perfect remission and forgiveness; through Jesus Christ our Lord, who lives and reigns with you and the Holy Spirit, one God, for ever and ever.

The Concluding Prayer of the Church

Lord God, almighty and everlasting Father, you have brought me in safety to this new day:  Preserve me with your mighty power, that I may not fall into sin, nor be overcome by adversity; and in all I do direct me to the fulfilling of your purpose; through Jesus Christ my Lord.  Amen. 

One thought on “Lenten Daily Prayers: The First Week

  1. Pingback: Lenten Daily Prayers: The Fifth Week « Thoughts and Ruminations

Leave a Reply

